Welcome back!

The winds of change are in the air; walking home, I heard the crunch of dried leaves under my feet, and a hot drink finally sounded like a good idea. The air hasn’t started to cool off yet, but winter is coming.

(I’m so ready for a pumpkin spice latte.)

Earlier this summer, I had the opportunity to go to Minneapolis – somewhere I have never been. Coming home from the trip, I started to ask myself what I really like about living in Logan. I’ve lived in three cities in Utah, and Logan is without question my favorite. More people, more trees, more transportation – it’s simply more compatible with my life for now.

I love the people here. Because USU pulls in students from all over this country and others, Logan is a pretty diverse place, as far as Utah goes. Especially when tutoring in the Writing Center, I’ve met so many interesting people and learned more about different cultures and ideals. Through my time at the university, I’ve made a lot of close friends and had the opportunity to work with great people like Star. I never would’ve expected to call the poet laureate of a city my boss, let alone a friend.

I love the businesses here, and I love that I can get to them. I’m lucky enough to live close to Caffe Ibis – without question the best coffee shop of which I’ve been a patron – and Whysound, both of which host local music groups frequently. The library is close by, and I can always get to Helicon. I love walking home from an evening of poetry, coffee in hand, and seeing the sun setting over the western hills. As the seasons change and USU’s semester comes into full swing, the sun will set sooner and Helicon will be more frequent (and probably longer!)

Helicon West this semester will take place on the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 7 P.M. in the Logan Library’s Bridger room. Here are those dates:

Sept. 14
Sept. 28
Oct. 12
Oct. 26
Nov. 9
Dec. 7

I’ll update you all when I know the program for next time. See you on the 14th, Helicon!

Leave a Reply

