A Little Bit of Baking

The other day I made lemon bars. But, full disclosure: I was very distracted and ruined them.

To give you a peek into my life, I’ve got this husband. He’s a really sweet guy. He forgets everything. And by everything, I mean, everything important. I can understand if he forgets his lunch one day. Everyone does that. But on Friday, as I walked out the door I said, “Will you please call our landlord to come pick up the rent?” (Our landlord is strange. He makes rent very difficult.) My husband said yes.

Later that day, I’m sitting in my Fiction class and I think, husband probably didn’t call the landlord. So I text my husband. Sure enough, he’d forgotten about the rent.

So I’m at Walmart, picking up stuff for lemon bars, fuming away, and I grab yellow cake mix instead of lemon cake mix. I realize this when I get home. I think, it’s too late now. So I pour a bunch of lemon juice in the mix. The batter ends up gooey and unspreadable. The pan shows no mercy.

However, the lemon bars turn out fine. They taste lemon-y. Dare I say…they taste GOOD. In fact, I do believe I’ve created my own recipe.

Which, of course, brings me to writing…because what doesn’t bring me to writing? There is no recipe for writing. You can throw together whatever you want, as long as you’re getting the central idea, nay, the central question to come together in the end. Sure I didn’t have the correct ingredients, but I got a good result. My point is, don’t give up on that recipe (writing) you’re trying out. It’s going somewhere.

Is it just me or are these posts making less and less sense?

Anyway, come to Helicon West on Thursday! It’s been TOO long, people. And it’ll be a good one. We’ve got Ken Brewer and Will Pitkin, as well as guest readers Star Coulbrooke, Paul Crumbley, Jerry Fuhriman, and Bill Strong. Let’s see what they’ve been cooking up.

brewerdec8

Leave a Reply

