A Thought Circle

Today is Columbus Day. And on this day about seven years ago, a fortune cookie told me something spectacular would happen. I remember sitting in my room and waiting for something spectacular to burst through my door. And when nothing came, I thought to myself, “Maybe fortune cookies are wrong.”

Speaking of fortune cookies, this morning I climbed into my husband’s car, only to find that I sat on one of the packaged crunchy cookies. I said, “Oh, so you ate Chinese food recently?” (A bit of backstory: I don’t see my husband very often. He works 10-8 every day, and most of the time he is in Layton, so it’s more like an 8:30-9 shift each day. So yes, it’s completely normal for me to not know what he’s eaten. And yes, we are trying to find him a new job.) He told me that he didn’t eat Chinese food, but actually, a guy he worked with gave him the fortune cookie and said, “I know how much you love these.” My husband said that they have never talked about fortune cookies. Ever.

Which makes me wonder, what do people remember about me when they see me? Something true or not true?

Which makes me think about history, of course. What really happened?

Which brings us back to Columbus, in a way.

But if you really want to be a part of history, what better way than to write? And to share your writing? So thank you, Columbus, for discovering America. If you had not done so, we would not have Helicon West tomorrow, and that makes these days spectacular. So maybe my fortune cookie was just a couple years behind.

Join us tomorrow! The program will be just as splendid as ever!

helicon

Leave a Reply

