Into the West

For the first time in my college career, I wore a hat today. I looked up several different ways to wear fedoras on Pinterest, and ended up going for the “I literally just woke up this way” look, where I put my hair up and leave some curled pieces down, and then gently place the hat on top.

I took the hat off.

I put the hat back on.

I said to myself, “I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of women fails, when we forsake our style and break all bonds of individualism, but it is not this day. An hour of cynics and shattered self esteem, when the judgment of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day!”

More or less.

I said to myself, “Wear the hat, you coward.”

And so I did. I ignored the stares of people at the shuttle stop. I ignored the glowers of everyone on campus. I said to myself, “Wear this hat like you’re proud of it. Wear it like you own it.”*

I walked down the long sidewalk on the Quad, strong and confident, and when I’d almost reached the safety of Ray B. West, where students are encouraged to be unique and proud, my beautiful friend Millie said, “Abi is now my fashion icon.”

The moral of the story is not self confidence! It is not how to get a boosted ego! But it is about trying something new.

And so, my friends, come with me this year to Helicon West where you will feel inspired, welcomed, and refreshed. And you might make a friend or two.

helicon west launch

 

Join the authors for a Helicon West Book Launch Party

on Thursday, September 8, 2016

7:00 PM

at the Bluebird Restaurant, Third Floor

19 North Main Street, Logan, Utah.

There will be a short reading and a panel discussion (with audience participation) about the value of literary projects such as this one, followed by an open microphone and book signing.

No restaurant service will be offered at the party, but we will have cups for BYOB drinks. Light refreshments and Caffe Ibis coffee will be served. (We hope many of you will order dinner before the event to show your support for the historic Bluebird Restaurant.) Book Launch event is free, open to the public, and uncensored.

Can’t wait to see you there! Maybe I’ll even wear my hat again? Who knows? Either way you’ll find me enjoying myself at this wondrous event.

 

*I understand that I may sound a bit like I have the beginning signs of Schizophrenia. For your reassurance, this post has been dramatized.

 

Leave a Reply

